The Story Begins

Gina stood and watched herself in the mirror. She couldn’t help but wonder how she got there. She was 26 years old and Happily married to Tom. They had been lovers since high school. From the day they met, they each knew that they were meant to be.

She was the youngest manager in her firm. Top notch PR manager. She had traveled to so many places and received so many awards, but even for this task, she seemed inadequately equipped. 

33604122-Pregnant-woman-looking-in-mirror-Stock-Photo.jpgHow was she going to raise a child? It was always easier for her age mates. Most of them had played the mom role with their younger siblings. She wasn’t familiar with what it meant to be a mother. She never had a mother’s touch no matter how hard she tried. It took Tom 3 years to convince her that they should start having kids.

You see for Gina, her parents hadn’t been around much. She had to parent herself quite a number of times and she didn’t like it. She grew up faster than her age mates. She always had to be the responsible one.

Her younger siblings were just starting out life in the real world. Fresh graduates. And because she had always been there, they still came to her for everything. Everything except money of course. Their parents were financially capable of buying each child 2 cars and a condo without a hit at their bank accounts. For them that was pocket change. Their flaw, their time was only spared where grades and success was involved. Gina couldn’t remember the last time they sat down and had a meal together as a family.

She remembered the day she made the vow to never have children. She felt like being a parent and success were not a recipe for a happy life. If she was going to be successful, she was going to put a brake on family life. She was going to work and work her ass off until she was rich enough to drop everything and settle down.

19077260-reflection-in-mirror-of-man-embracing-pregnant-woman-from-behind-in-bedroom-stock-photo“Why is it that each time you think about having this baby, you throw out your marbles and forget that you aren’t going through this alone? You have me. And what haven’t we been through? Remember when mum died? I was so angry at the world, but somehow you found a way of making her feel alive in my memories. Even the new ones. Then there’s Tom. He loves you in a way i can’t even understand sometimes, it’s like God sat down and fashioned a man that could handle your exact history. He’s going to be there with you.

Finally, there’s God. Do you remember my last trimester with the twins? The car accident and the news that my birth would be complicated? Then dad decides to get married to a girl my age and they flew off to Bolivia. To be honest I didn’t think I was going to get through it. I know you were there and all, but there were days it got so hard that I’d just get on my knees and pray. Now I have two boys who  never keep quiet and a husband that likes to engage in their madness, but each time I look at them, I am grateful to God because of what He has done.”

“Stacy…… I really don’t think I can do this?”

“Okay, let’s make a deal. If you get through the first three years in one piece, I get a three month holiday with Jake and you get to have all our kids over for those 3 months.”

“What if i don’t make it?”

“I’ll adopt your baby.”

“Stacy be serious!”

 

“I am serious. I know you don’t see this, but you will be a great mum. Trust me. He has a plan for you. Jeremiah 29:11. You may not see it now, but He does.”

“There you go again quoting scripture. One of these days, scripture won’t be enough for you.”

“When that day comes, I’ll let you know.”

~ Two Sides of a Coin ~

 

Leave a Reply

