The concept of love

When most people hear the word love their minds immediately shift to erotic love. A love that is shared between a man and a woman. Eros is what they call it in …..

Well, even as I mention love, eros is one of many types of love. However, the love I’m going to talk about isn’t just one. It is going to touch on the love that is shared between friends, between siblings, between a mother and a child, and yes, even between spouses. 

I was on a two month hiatus as I pondered on what to write. For the longest time I’ve wanted to write a series. Not a film series, no. A series of pieces that relate to a specific theme, and I thought about it. 

I did my research and realized that most people who do a series tend to touch on reviews of something such as restaurants, others do relationships and some even go into the daily experiences of parenting. So as I pondered on what to write on I observed society.

I didn’t sit somewhere and begin to watch people. I glimpsed at the world through the eyes of my friends. Through those I have met and forgotten. Through  those I have questioned because they have constantly surprised me with their choices.

There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love. ~1 John 4:18 

 It wasn’t until Sunday that I finally figured out what I wanted to write about. After thinking about what exists, I thought about love. Not love as we know it. Not the romantic emotive feeling that awakens strong passions. The love that is reflective of a higher being. Love that is selfless. One that is grounded on friendship and girded by time and perspective.

One that has a rudimentary touch but overflows with such beauty that it can only be appreciated and craved once experienced. As you read this probably you think that such a love doesn’t exist. Well, I’m here to prove you wrong. When we look within and truly understand what we need, we cease to align with that which is mediocre. 

It is as if scales are removed from our eyes and we suddenly experience new facets of life that seemed non-existent when we lived that life of searching that we constantly filled with repetitive and treacherous empties. 

I hope we shall walk together on this journey. It will be a learning experience for both of us. And maybe along the way we will uncover this kind of love in it’s most simple form. Or maybe we may be the kind that glimpse it from afar. Either way, I look forward to it. 

Until next week, love and laugh.

                                         ~ Poems & Stories ~

Leave a Reply

