Food, Something Everybody does.

Hello Internet! I am The Dreadlocked Chef and I am a first time blogger, lifelong eater. Welcome to Tasty Tuesdays! First of many and I just want say, food is not some complicated mad science that you need to comprehend in order to produce some great tasting food. It involves a lot of patience, practice, and free time. Every recipe is a set of instructions that you ought to follow to produce a specific meal or food item. It really is so simple, even an 8 year old can do it.

 

 

Funny story, I was about 8 years old when I first cooked anything from start to finish. It was during the holidays, my folks had left for work and my mom ought to have made breakfast for her son… But plans changed and I woke up all alone in the house. No food. No adults. Just a hungry kid, and a ton of food in the house. So, I called up my mom in a panic, (mind you it was a landline) “Mom! When are you coming home? I’m hungry!”

Mom has a mini heart attack noticing she forgot to nourish her little one. “Mom, can I make frankfurters?” There’s an intense pause, and she makes this point extremely clear, “Just don’t burn down my house.” So in an extremely youthful state of excitement, I went in to the kitchen. Saucepan, Water, Flame, Frankfurters, eight minutes later, it is breakfast o’clock!

Now, I have to admit. I had watched my mom in the kitchen and still do; I learned most of what I know from her and her sisters. Also the occasional experiments with my pops really opened me up to the world of food. I learned more in High School and I got some formal training during my last few months of university.

So, just to prove to you how easy it is to cook, I am going to give you my pancake recipe, to really make your Tasty Tuesday.

Ingredients

1 Cup Milk

1 Cup Flour (All – Purpose)

1 Egg

1 Teaspoon salt

3 Tablespoons Sugar (one more if you have a sweet tooth)

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1 1/2 Teaspoons Vanilla Essence

Oil/Butter for frying.

Method

  1. Sift all the dry ingredients into a large bowl and whisk well in order to add air and incorporate all the ingredients.
  2. Make a well in the Bowl and add all your wet ingredients
  3. Mix your ingredients and ensure there are no lumps of flour hiding in the air pockets – your mixture should be bubbly at the top when left to settle.
  4. Heat up your non-stick pan add a bit of butter or oil, just enough to cover the base of the pan.
  5. Use a ladle to spoon the mix onto the pan.
  6. When the edges get firm and the bubbles on the surface start to pop, you are ready to flip your pancake.
  7. 2 minutes or less, you can take it off the pan and repeat steps 4 through 7.
  8. You can add fresh berries, ice cream, coffee, bacon, sausages, icing sugar, whatever you’d like to add.
  9. Enjoy

 

 

So Interntet, get cooking. we can all do it, #TastyTuesday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

